The complete list of 12 2023 Len Evans Tutorial scholars was announced this yesterday, as selected from over 180 applications – the most ever received in the 21 year history of the Tutorial.

Sommeliers Australia is thrilled that two of its current members, and a Sommeliers Australia Education Scholarship alumna, have been selected to take part in this prestigious wine programme, described as “the most exclusive wine school in the world.”

Congratulations to National Executive/NSW Committee member Louella Mathews, Professional member Penny Vine (2019 Education Scholarship Finalist) and Education Scholarship alumna, Kaylene Reynolds (2016 Dux), for being accepted to attend this year’s Tutorial, alongside an impressive list of wine professionals.


2023 Len Evans Scholars

Steve Baraglia – Chief Winemaker, Pikes Wines, Pike & Joyce Wines, Naked Run, SA

Andre Bondar – Owner and Winemaker, Bondar Wines, SA

Emma Farrelly – Director of Wine, The State Buildings, Como The Treasury, WA

Jack Glover – Marketing Director, Accolade Wines, NSW

Liz Heidenreich – Winemaker, Liz Heidenreich Wines, Peter Teakle Wines, SA

Louella Mathews – Group Sommelier, Trippas White Group, NSW

Kaylene Reynolds – Sales, Marketing and Education, Prince Wine Store, Vic

Tim Shand – Chief Winemaker, Voyager Estate, WA

Kate Sturgess – Winemaker, Brokenwood Wines, NSW

Alister Timms – Winemaker, Shadowfax Winery, Vic

Matthew Paul Turnbull – Owner, A Good Bunch, SA

Penelope Vine – Head Sommelier, Trader House (Cutler & Co and Marion), Vic


Very few sommeliers are accepted to take part in the Len Evans Tutorial each year, so we wish these three accomplished women of wine all the very best!
Could one of them make Dux?


Previous Sommeliers Australia alumni/Len Evans Tutorial Dux winners:

2015 – Adam Cotterell

2014 – Matt Brooke

2010 – Liam O’Brien

2003 – Ben Edwards



Photo thanks to Len Evans Tutorial / Elfes