The complete list of 12 scholars for the 18th Len Evans Tutorial was recently announced, and Sommeliers Australia is thrilled that two of its current Committee members have been selected to take part in this prestigious wine programme, described as “the most exclusive wine school in the world.”

Congratulations to Co-President Sarah Andrew and NSW Committee member Alexander Kirkwood for being accepted to attend this year’s Tutorial, alongside an impressive list of wine professionals.


2018 Len Evans Scholars

Name Company Position
Simon Killeen Simao & Co Wines Winemaker
Tim Dolan Peter Lehmann Senior Winemaker
Sarah Lawler Ishizuka Restaurant Wine Buyer/Wine List Consultant
Brendan Carr Xanadu Wines Winemaker
Alex Kirkwood Aria Restaurant Head Sommelier
Lance Parkin Amberley Estate Winemaker
Rauri Donkin First Creek Wines Winemaker
Tim Lovett Leeuwin Estate Senior Winemaker
Sarah Andrew House of Fine Wine National On Premise Business Manager
Steven Paul Oakdene Wines General Manager/Director-Shareholder
Cath Oates Oates Ends Owner/Winemaker
Michael Downer Murdoch Hill Winemaker


Will Sarah or Alex join the ranks of Sommeliers Australia alumni who have previously been awarded Dux?

Very few sommeliers are accepted to take part each year, so we wish them all the very best!


Previous Sommeliers Australia alumni/Len Evans Tutorial Dux winners:

2015 – Adam Cotterell

2014 – Matt Brooke

2010 – Liam O’Brien

2003 – Ben Edwards