On Sunday 26 August, Sommeliers Australia members present at the AGM voted for the 2018/2019 National Executive Committee (NEC), with Office Bearing roles being allocated at the first NEC meeting held immediately afterwards.

A refreshed 2018/2019 National Executive Committee has been voted in as follows:

Pip Anderson (TAS)
Sarah Andrews (VIC) Co-President
Jonathan Brook (SA)
Chris Crawford (VIC) Co-President
Benjamin Hasko MS (NSW)
Ben Moechtar (NSW)
Anthony Pieri (VIC)
Greg Richardson (NSW) Treasurer


The NEC is also excited to announce a solid leadership team for the association, with Sarah Andrews and Chris Crawford accepting Co-Presidents roles until the 2021 AGM.

Their long-term commitment to the association will maintain focus on, and planning for, the ASI 2021 Best Sommelier of Asia Oceania competition which will be hosted by Sommeliers Australia.

Outgoing NSW and National Executive Committee member Franck Moreau MS was acknowledged for his years of commitment to the association, and members thanked him for his contribution of skills and knowledge during his tenure. Franck’s commitment to Sommeliers Australia will continue with him supporting the 2021 BSAO Planning and Education Sub-Committees.



Image – 2018/2091 National Executive Committee members and Franck Moreau at ‘Hemingway in Havana’: (l-r) Ben Moechtar, Srah Andrew, Anthony Pieri, Franck Moreau, Chris Crawford, Greg Richardson.